One Little Candle

There used to be a time when I felt very lucky. When I felt like everything was going well and nothing can go wrong. But the past year has been a challenge that I felt like there were more downs than ups in my life. I felt like almost everything that could have gone wrong had. And that all the tests, trials and tribulations have been handed to me in a silver platter. If my life had been a movie, it would have been a made-for-TV Lifetime channel tear jerker. Sure there were commercial breaks in between. Some respite from the pain, some sun after the rain. But as soon as the movie comes back on, the drama continues on. And on. And on. 

 

And now starts a new year And with it, I hope. I hope that this year bring good things. Of normalcy. Of boring, regular life. Because I had enough drama to last me a lifetime. My year of drama has ended last year. And I really do hope that this year will be the year that my life starts to not suck again. 

 

And so today, I went to church for the first time in a long time. And I prayed that life treats me better this year. 

 

It is better to light just one little candle than to stumble in the dark. ~ from a Catholic hymn ~ 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

